The tempest and the Fire

A work in progress.

Eris has spent her life trying to be like her sisters. Despite their rural upbringing, Eris’s accomplished sisters occupy powerful roles in Keshgan –  a prosperous city founded by two ancient kings who once slew an evil Creature – while Eris languishes as a patrol guard. But when their father’s death shatters the family’s already-fragile bonds, Eris flees the City in despair. Escaping into a dead forest of ash, Eris kills a panther cub to survive, unwittingly drawing the wrath of the secluded, immortal Beast. Upon seeing the roses that bloom from the cub’s blood, the Beast spares her. Eris can wield magic, a knowledge lost to all centuries ago.  

Agreeing to restore life to his dead land in penance for her actions, Eris learns how to control her magic under his tutelage. As Eris draws satisfaction in finding purpose, she also struggles with being used only as a vessel for magic. It doesn’t help that her initial fear of the Beast is turning into a feeling she can’t quite identify. But her simple promise begins to unravel: the City is not what it seems, and the Beast intends to destroy all those who live in it, including Eris’s family.

Now in full command of her powers, Eris must choose between aiding the Beast in his vengeance or to betray her teacher, saving the collective good from his fury. No longer standing in her sisters’ shadows nor being the Beast’s pawn, Eris must decide how she makes her mark on the world.

Learn More

Disney Women Series

Ten paintings of Disney’s iconic female characters.

In September, I went to Disneyland for a vacation. There’s a glut of marketing materials of Disney princesses in very delicate poses. You know, one leg is slightly bent inwards, the head is tilted, shiny skirts everywhere. They’re all removed from the context of their stories which gave them their personalities. To me they are reduced to bodies parading pretty dresses.

One goal was at the forefront of my mind when setting about painting this series: to capture Disney’s women in positions of power and strength. These were the women that I grew up and identified with.

Learn More

The sixth Equinox

A Hades/Persephone illustrated novel based on Receiver of Many by Rachel Alexander.

Persephone returns to Hades for the sixth time, both unsure and anxious of their feelings for each other. Journey through their six months of waiting before their reunification, bound to their roles through the will of the Fates, and face their temptations to throw the cosmos into chaos in order to return.

Learn More
2018 Con Schedule:

Mar 23-25: Wondercon
April 6-8: C2E2
May 18-20: Anime Central
June 7-10: A-Kon
July  5-8: Anime Expo

Mailing List Sign Up